Wendy Shang and Madelyn Rosenberg: Trivia Challenge!

We are thrilled to welcome Wendy Shang and Madelyn Rosenberg back for a fun virtual event to help celebrate the release of new books by both authors! After writing together for a while now, and just being great friends, they have decided to engage in a friendly trivia competition - to see who knows the other's books better!

Wendy Wan-Long Shang, THE RICE IN THE POT GOES ROUND AND ROUND, is also the author of The Great Wall of Lucy Wu, which was awarded the Asian/Pacific American Award for Children's Literature; The Way Home Looks Now, an Amelia Bloomer Project List selection and a CCBC Choices List selection; and This Is Just a Test, which she cowrote with Madelyn Rosenberg and which is a Sydney Taylor Honor Book. She lives with her family in the suburbs of Washington, DC.

 

Madelyn Rosenberg, ONE SMALL HOP, is also the coauthor of This Is Just a Test, a Sydney Taylor Honor Book, and Not Your All-American Girl, which she wrote with Wendy Wan-Long Shang; Dream Boy, cowritten with Mary Crockett; and many books for younger readers, including the How to Behave books and Cyclops of Central Park. She writes books, articles, and essays for children and adults, and lives in the suburbs of Washington, DC.

About ONE SMALL HOP...

Perfect for fans of Carl Hiaasen's classic Hoot, this humorous adventure story set in a not-so-distant future celebrates the important differences we can make with small, brave acts.

When Ahab and his friends find a bullfrog in their town -- a real, live bullfrog, possibly the last bullfrog in North America -- they have several options:

A. Report it to the Environmental Police Force. Too bad everyone knows the agency is a joke.
B. Leave it be. They're just a bunch of kids -- what if they hurt it by moving it?
C. Find another real, live bullfrog on the black market. Convince their parents to let them bike to Canada. Introduce the two frogs. Save all of frogkind.

Ahab convinces the rest of the group that C is their only real option. Because if they don't save this frog, who will? Their quest, which will involve fake ice cream, real frog spawn, and some very close calls, teaches Ahab that hope is always the logical choice and that science is always better with friends.

With humor and empathy, acclaimed author Madelyn Rosenberg builds an all-too-imaginable future ravaged by climate change, where one kid can still lean on his friends and dream up a better tomorrow.

About THE RICE IN THE POT GOES ROUND AND ROUND...

Sing along to this delicious twist on "The Wheels on the Bus" and celebrate the food, laughter, and love of a multigenerational family meal!
* "Artfully brings an authentic expression of family love...an utterly charming [twist] to a familiar tune." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

The rice in the pot goes round and round,

Round and round, round and round,

The rice in the pot goes round and round

At the table where my family gathers round...

At the table where this family gathers, they share food, laughter, and, most of all, love. Readers of all ages are sure to delight in this joyful, expressive sing-along, slurping noodles, squishing tofu, and tapping chopsticks as they sing along to this familiar tune.

Rhythmic text from The Great Wall of Lucy Wu author and Asian/Pacific American Library Association Award winner Wendy Wan-Long Shang, and vibrant, playful illustrations from artist Lorian Tu bring this heartwarming, mouth-watering story to life. Informative back matter includes a food glossary and etiquette guidelines that are sure to delight and engage young readers.


 

Event date: 
Tuesday, June 1, 2021 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
online
VA
$17.99
SKU: s9781338565614
If you only want the author's signature, please enter "just sign."

$18.99
SKU: s9781338621198
If you only want the author's signature, please enter "just sign."

Over the Moon: The Novelization Cover Image
By Wendy Wan-Long Shang, Netflix (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780063002432
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 29th, 2020

Not Your All-American Girl Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338037760
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - July 7th, 2020

This Is Just a Test Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338037739
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - March 26th, 2019

The Way Home Looks Now Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780545609579
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - March 28th, 2017

Cyclops of Central Park Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525514701
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - February 11th, 2020

Take Care Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780807577325
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Albert Whitman & Company - January 1st, 2018

The Schmutzy Family Cover Image
By Madelyn Rosenberg, Paul Meisel (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780823442416
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Holiday House - September 11th, 2018