Stephen Spotswood releases Murder Under Her Skin | In-store event

Event date: 
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 - 7:00pm

We are so excited to get to celebrate the release of MURDER UNDER HER SKIN with Stephen Spotswood! We didn’t get to properly celebrate his debut in 2020, so we’ll have double the fun.

--> This event is free, but you MUST

Capacity is limited to 25 people, so please register to be sure you get in. Proof of COVID vaccination will be recquired at the door. (See the Eventbrite registration page for more about our COVID precautions.) A link to a live stream of the event will be posted here and on our Facebook page and YouTube channel for anyone who can not attend in person.

Stephen Spotswood is an award-winning playwright, journalist, and educator. As a journalist, he has spent much of the last two decades writing about the aftermath of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan and the struggles of wounded veterans. His dramatic work has been widely produced across the United States. He makes his home in Washington, D.C. with his wife, young adult author Jessica Spotswood.

FOR READERS OF ANTHONY HOROWITZ AND JACQUELINE WINSPEAR WITH A DASH OF AGATHA CHRISTIE, Murder Under Her Skin is a delightfully hardboiled high-wire act starring two daring heroines dead set on justice.

Someone’s put a blade in the back of the Amazing Tattooed Woman, and Willowjean “Will” Parker’s former knife-throwing mentor has been stitched up for the crime. To uncover the truth, Will and her boss, world-famous detective Lillian Pentecost, travel south to the circus where they find a snakepit of old grudges, small-town crime, and secrets worth killing for.
 
New York, 1946: The last time Will Parker let a case get personal, she walked away with a broken face, a bruised ego, and the solemn promise never again to let her heart get in the way of her job. But she called Hart and Halloway’s Travelling Circus and Sideshow home for five years, and Ruby Donner, the circus’s tattooed ingenue, was her friend. To make matters worse the prime suspect is Valentin Kalishenko, the man who taught Will everything she knows about putting a knife where it needs to go.
 
To uncover the real killer and keep Kalishenko from a date with the electric chair, Will and Ms. Pentecost join the circus in sleepy Stoppard, Virginia, where the locals like their cocktails mild, the past buried, and big-city detectives not at all. The two swiftly find themselves lost in a funhouse of lies as Will begins to realize that her former circus compatriots aren’t playing it straight, and that her murdered friend might have been hiding a lot of secrets beneath all that ink.

Dodging fistfights, firebombs, and flying lead, Will puts a lot more than her heart on the line in the search of the truth. Can she find it before someone stops her ticker for good?

Event address: 
2200 N. Westmoreland Street
Arlington, VA 22213
$27.00
SKU: s9780385547123
If you only want the author's signature, please enter "just sign."

$16.00
SKU: s9780593310755
If you only want the author's signature, please enter "just sign."