Discussion of Graphic Memoirs with Malaka Gharib & Robin Ha

Join us for a live online discussion with Malaka Gharib (I WAS THEIR AMERICAN DREAM) & Robin Ha (ALMOST AMERICAN GIRL) about their graphic memoirs which chronicle their experience as young immigrants in the U.S.

--> This event will stream for free on Facebook and YouTube, but please <--

Direct links to participate on Facebook and YouTube (your choice) will be added here a week in advance. If you register, you will also receive an email with the direct links.

I WAS THEIR AMERICAN DREAM is at once a coming-of-age story and a reminder of the thousands of immigrants who come to America in search for a better life for themselves and their children. The daughter of parents with unfulfilled dreams themselves, Malaka navigated her childhood chasing her parents' ideals, learning to code-switch between her family's Filipino and Egyptian customs, adapting to white culture to fit in, crushing on skater boys, and trying to understand the tension between holding onto cultural values and trying to be an all-American kid. Malaka Gharib's triumphant graphic memoir brings to life her teenage antics and illuminates earnest questions about identity and culture, while providing thoughtful insight into the lives of modern immigrants and the generation of millennial children they raised. Malaka's story is a heartfelt tribute to the American immigrants who have invested their future in the promise of the American dream.

Malaka Gharib is an artist, journalist, and writer based in Washington, D.C. She is the founder of The Runcible Spoon, a food zine, and the co-founder of the D.C. Art Book Fair. She lives in a row house with her husband Darren and her 9-year-old rice cooker.

ALMOST AMERICAN GIRL is a powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. This nonfiction graphic novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn’t always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation—following her mother’s announcement that she’s getting married—Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn’t understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn’t fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to—her mother. Then one day Robin’s mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.  

Robin Ha grew up reading and drawing comics. At fourteen she moved to the United States from Seoul, Korea. After graduating from the Rhode Island School of Design with a BFA in illustration, she moved to New York City and started a career in the fashion industry. Her work has been published in independent comic anthologies including Secret Identities and The Strumpet, as well as in the pages of Marvel Comics and Heavy Metal Magazine. She is also the author of the New York Times bestselling comic recipe book Cook Korean!: A Comic Book with Recipes. Visit Robin online at banchancomic.tumblr.com.

Event date: 
Tuesday, August 18, 2020 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
online
Arlington, VA 22213
I Was Their American Dream: A Graphic Memoir Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525575115
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarkson Potter - April 30th, 2019

Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Robin Ha, Robin Ha (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062685094
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 28th, 2020