Just a Girl Lib/E: A True Story of World War II (Compact Disc)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Just a Girl Lib/E: A True Story of World War II Cover Image
$63.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


From Italian-Jewish author Lia Levi comes her award-winning memoir, detailing how she came of age in Fascist Italy during World War II. Complete with endearing black-and-white illustrations throughout, a moving author's note, and family photos.

1938, Italy. Lia is terribly shy with a birdlike, quiet voice. When Mama tells Lia that prime minister Mussolini doesn't want Jewish children in schools anymore, Lia is happy. No more school No one will be angry about her small voice. But why is Mussolini singling out Jewish people?

At just six years old, Lia doesn't know the terms discrimination or anti-Semitism, but she will live and experience it, as Hitler and Mussolini's racial laws take more and more from her family and friends. Eventually her parents are forced to send Lia and her sisters to hide at a convent. Unfortunately, there are still math lessons but also a theater with costumes and a piano. Through it all, Lia tries to understand what's happening and adapt to her new life, all while longing to be just a girl.

From Lia Levi comes a simply written, beautifully illustrated memoir of a girl who becomes progressively more aware of the world and complex human nature, growing into a thoughtful, reflective young woman. Just a Girl is perfect for fans of Kimberly Brubaker Bradley and Lois Lowry.



Product Details
ISBN: 9798200855438
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 22nd, 2022
Language: English