Shipping deadlines: We are strongly encouraging customers to get your orders in by December 7th for media mail shipping and December 14th for ground shipping. This only applies to book are " On Our Shelves Now " (shipping times for all other books will depend on publishers shipping speeds). We have been warned about shipping delays all season from USPS, UPS, and FedEx so don't delay!

Home Home (Hardcover)

Home Home Cover Image
$17.99
Available from Our Distributor (Not in Store)

Description


Fans of Monday's Not Coming and Girl in Pieces will love this award-winning novel about a girl on the verge of losing herself and the unlikely journey to recovery after she is removed from anything and everyone she knows to be home.

Moving from Trinidad to Canada wasn't her idea. But after being hospitalized for depression, her mother sees it as the only option. Now, living with an estranged aunt she barely remembers and dealing with her "troubles" in a foreign country, she feels more lost than ever.

Everything in Canada is cold and confusing. No one says hello, no one walks anywhere, and bus trips are never-ending and loud. She just wants to be home home, in Trinidad, where her only friend is going to school and Sunday church service like she used to do.

But this new home also brings unexpected surprises: the chance at a family that loves unconditionally, the possibility of new friends, and the promise of a hopeful future. Though she doesn't see it yet, Canada is a place where she can feel at home--if she can only find the courage to be honest with herself.

"Allen-Agostini uses frank yet gentle prose...[in this] hopeful story about finding one's place and the sometimes-difficult journey to self-acceptance."-Kirkus Reviews, Starred review

"An accessible look at teen anxiety and depression...[Home Home] shines in its depictions of the physical and emotional aspects of anxiety and depression...[and] teens of color coping with mental illness will find common cause with this Trini girl's journey toward self-actualization and healing."--Booklist

"Allen-Agostini depicts the culture of her homeland with honesty and enlightening details,...delivering important messages about acceptance and mental illness."-SLJ

About the Author


Lisa Allen-Agostini is a widely published novelist, journalist, and poet from Trinidad and Tobago. She writes primarily about the Caribbean, its people, and its culture. Lisa lives in Trinidad with her family; her dog, Sassy; and her fabulous cat, Fennec. Home Home is her second novel for young adults and a CODE Burt Award finalist. To learn more about Lisa, visit lisaallen-agostini.com and follow @AllenAgostini on Twitter.

Praise For…


A CODE Burt Award for Caribbean Young Adult Literature Finalist

"A hopeful story about finding one's place and the sometimes-difficult journey to self-acceptance." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"An accessible look at teen anxiety and depression . . . [Home Home] shines in its depictions of the physical and emotional aspects of anxiety and depression . . . [and] teens of color coping with mental illness will find common cause with this Trini girl’s journey toward self-actualization and healing." —Booklist

"Allen-Agostini depicts the culture of her homeland with honesty and enlightening details. She perfectly captures the desperation of a young girl who is trapped between her undeniable experience of depression and what others expect of her . . . delivering important messages about acceptance and mental illness." —School Library Journal

“Break[s] down the daunting reality of depression and anxiety. Strong interpersonal dynamics balance hard themes, including homophobia, suicidal ideation, troubled parent relationships, and the minimization of depression, resulting in a quietly optimistic story.” —Publishers Weekly

Warmth and lyricism suffuse the compact text, making this a moving quick pick.” —The Bulletin


Product Details
ISBN: 9781984893581
ISBN-10: 1984893580
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: May 26th, 2020
Pages: 160