Camp Prodigy (Paperback)

Coming up at OMP!  

Thurs, 6/13 at 6:30 at Arlington Central Library: Celebrate the final event in the James Baldwin's Centennial Arlington Reads author series with author George M. Johnson and Librarian Juliane Weight in conversation about Johnson's memoir manifesto, ALL BOYS AREN'T BLUE
Mon. 6/17 at 6:30 at SHIRLINGTON LIBRARY: Author Alice Faye Duncan discusses OPAL LEE AND WHAT IT MEANS TO BE FREE--the true story of the Grandmother of Juneteenth

Due to the summer heat, we recommend chocolate purchases for in-store pickup only. We recommend against shipping as we would hate for your delicious chocolate to arrive melted and possibly ruined (sob).

Camp Prodigy By Caroline Palmer, Caroline Palmer (Illustrator) Cover Image

Camp Prodigy (Paperback)

$12.99


On Our Shelves Now - Please Allow up to 24-48 hours for Curbside Pickup
1 on hand, as of Jun 13 4:35am
(KIDS' GRAPHIC NOVELS)
Perfect for fans of Victoria Jamieson and Raina Telgemeier, this heartwarming middle grade graphic novel follows two nonbinary kids who navigate anxiety and identity while having fun and forming friendships at their summer orchestra camp.

After attending an incredible concert, Tate Seong is inspired to become a professional violist. There’s just one problem: they’re the worst musician at their school.

Tate doesn’t even have enough confidence to assert themself with their friends or come out as nonbinary to their family, let alone attempt a solo anytime soon. Things start to look up when Tate attends a summer orchestra camp—Camp Prodigy—and runs into Eli, the remarkable violist who inspired Tate to play in the first place.

But Eli has been hiding their skills ever since their time in the spotlight gave them a nervous breakdown. Together, can they figure out how to turn Tate into a star and have Eli overcome their performance anxieties? Or will the pressure take them both down?
Caroline Palmer is a nonbinary comic creator who tells action-packed stories with heart. Visit them at CarolinePalmerComics.Weebly.com.

Caroline Palmer is a nonbinary comic creator who tells action-packed stories with heart. Visit them at CarolinePalmerComics.Weebly.com.
Product Details ISBN: 9781665930376
ISBN-10: 1665930373
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 11th, 2024
Pages: 256
Language: English
“Tate’s journey of gender discovery is delicately wrought and joyfully celebrated without major conflict. Bold, jewel-toned, manga-style illustrations propel the story forward with movement and expression...An immersive and affirming story that hits the right notes.”
— Kirkus Reviews

"Palmer employs cartoon-style illustrations alongside lessons surrounding individuality and teamwork to craft an effervescent and affirming debut graphic novel about contending with expectations and anxiety while cultivating an authentic sense of self."
— Publishers Weekly