The Quiet Part Out Loud (Hardcover)

Coming up at OMP!  

Thurs, 6/13 at 6:30 at Arlington Central Library: Celebrate the final event in the James Baldwin's Centennial Arlington Reads author series with author George M. Johnson and Librarian Juliane Weight in conversation about Johnson's memoir manifesto, ALL BOYS AREN'T BLUE
Mon. 6/17 at 6:30 at SHIRLINGTON LIBRARY: Author Alice Faye Duncan discusses OPAL LEE AND WHAT IT MEANS TO BE FREE--the true story of the Grandmother of Juneteenth

Due to the summer heat, we recommend chocolate purchases for in-store pickup only. We recommend against shipping as we would hate for your delicious chocolate to arrive melted and possibly ruined (sob).

The Quiet Part Out Loud By Deborah Crossland Cover Image

The Quiet Part Out Loud (Hardcover)

$19.99


Available from Our Distributor (Not in Store)
A Good Morning America Buzz Pick

For fans of You’ve Reached Sam and A Heart in a Body in the World, this “moving and powerful” (Laura Namey Taylor, New York Times bestselling author of A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow) teen novel follows an ex-couple as they struggle to reunite in the wake of a devastating earthquake.

High school sweethearts Mia Clementine and Alfie Thanasis had a plan to escape their town for college in the east. Mia would leave her hard-core evangelical home for Sarah Lawrence College, and Alfie would have a new place to pursue his three loves: baseball, poetry, and Mia. But when Alfie got offered a scholarship to the University of San Francisco the same week the entire town found out about Mia’s mom’s affair with their church’s pastor, Mia’s world imploded and she pushed everyone away…including Alfie.

Five months after the worst summer ever, Mia is crashing at her best friend’s dorm at San Francisco State, just a few miles away from the University of San Francisco, praying she never runs into the boy whose heart she broke. And Alfie is trying to make the most of his freshman year while struggling to reconcile with the abrupt ending of his first love.

When Mia and Alfie’s paths cross for the briefest of moments, Mia realizes she never should have let him go and Alfie’s suppressed memories and feelings boil to the surface. But their reunion is cut short when a massive earthquake rocks San Francisco, leaving them to stumble desperately across the rubble in search of the ex they still love before the city crumbles—taking one, or both, of them with it.
Deborah Crossland teaches English and mythology at her local community college, studies mythology and depth psychology in her PhD program, and writes myth-based, contemporary novels for young adults. She is also a founding board member of the nonprofit Fernweh Collective, which focuses on cultural education through experiential learning. You can find her talking all things myth on Fernweh Collective’s happy hour video on YouTube. She lives in Northern California with her husband and her daughter’s very spoiled retired service dog.
Product Details ISBN: 9781665927123
ISBN-10: 1665927127
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 27th, 2023
Pages: 352
Language: English
The Quiet Part Out Loud brilliantly navigates an emotional journey through the stages of love and forgiveness, heartbreak and hope. The kind of book that lingers beyond its pages. Moving and powerful. 
— Laura Taylor Namey, New York Times bestselling author of A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow

"Emotions enhanced by terror run high, leading to a draining, heartbreaking conclusion. Readers will undoubtedly love or hate the ending, indicating the depth and power of the narrative and the characters."
— Booklist

"The fully realized, intersectionally diverse supporting cast and fervent discussions about religion imbue this surreal-feeling character study with intensity."
— Publishers Weekly