Even When You Lie: A Novel (Paperback)

Tues, March 5 at 7:00pm: Join us in welcoming local author Jenny Adams to share her new 1920s-set Mystery novel A DEADLY ENDEAVOR! She'll be in conversation with One More Page favorite Stephen Spotswood.

Even When You Lie: A Novel By Michelle Cruz Cover Image

Even When You Lie: A Novel (Paperback)

$18.99


Email for availability
Perfect for fans of Lisa Scottoline and Kimberly McCreight, Michelle Cruz's debut novel will have readers furiously turning the pages as they plunge headlong into the seedy underbelly of glitzy and glamorous Dallas in this gripping Texas noir.

Reagan Reyes hunts other people’s secrets. A former intelligence officer, she’s currently the in-house investigator for pricey criminal defense attorney, Cade McCarrick…and she’s his lover, despite the law firm’s rules forbidding romantic relationships between partners and staff. But their love—including their agreement never to lie to each other—is the only authenticity they have in a world of subterfuge and betrayal.

That agreement is pushed to its limits when a mysterious woman leaves an envelope for Cade and is soon discovered dead. While the envelope’s contents aren’t related to any of Cade’s current cases, Reagan uncovers a connection to a recent murder outside a Deep Ellum nightclub—and an even more ominous link to the dead woman.

The police don’t seem to care about either death, but they hit too close to home for Reagan to ignore. As she digs deeper into Dallas’s sordid underbelly, she’s completely on her own except for Cade—and there’s a killer bent on eliminating them both at any cost.

This pulse-pounding romantic thriller offers a fresh new take on big-city crime, from a dazzling and exciting new voice in the genre.
Michelle Cruz is a seventh-generation native Texan who served as a commissioned officer in the United States Air Force and staffed a member of Congress. She resides with her family in the Texas Hill Country and is a member of WFWA and the Writers’ League of Texas
 
Product Details ISBN: 9781639102501
ISBN-10: 1639102507
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: March 21st, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English
Praise for Even When You Lie:
“A powerful indictment of systemic racism at its most insidious."”
Kirkus Reviews

“An inherently compelling, pulse-pounding, romantic thriller.”
Midwest Book Review, audiobook review

“A solid thriller with well-written characters.”
Red Carpet Crash

Even When You Lie is the kind of debut that completely ensnares you—with a potent mix of romance, noir-laced twists, and the deadly side of the Dallas underworld combining to craft an unforgettable crime novel. Hats off to Michelle Cruz. Remember that name.”
—Alex Segura, bestselling author of Secret Identity