Heart of the Impaler (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Heart of the Impaler Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Alexander Delacroix's darkly romantic debut Heart of the Impaler is perfect for fans of Kiersten White's And I Darken.

Vlad Dracula has long lived in the shadows cast by his bloodthirsty father, the voivode, and his older brother, Mircea. Despite their cruelty, Vlad has yearned to prove himself worthy of the throne his whole life. In the cold halls of the voivode's palace, Vlad can only rely on his cousin and closest friend, Andrei Musat.

When Vlad and Andrei meet Ilona Csáki, the daughter of an influential boyar, they each find themselves inextricably drawn to her. But then Ilona is betrothed to Mircea as part of a political alliance, and Vlad's resentfulness of his brother begins to seethe into something far darker.

Ilona has no desire to marry the voivode’s eldest son, but love and marriage are the least of her worries. The royal family’s enemies have already tried to put an arrow through her back—and if anyone discovers her blossoming feelings for Andrei and Vlad, she may just wish they’d succeeded.

Beneath the shadow of impending war, the only battle that will be deadlier than the one for Ilona’s life will be the one for her heart.

Praise for Heart of the Impaler:

"Flowing and fast-paced as court intrigue, spies, family secrets, romance, twists, and turns pull readers into fifteenth-century Romania—and into the heart of Vlad the Impaler. Highly recommended." —Booklist

"Delacroix adroitly immerses readers in a delicious blend of romance and 15th-century politics that leans more historical than mythic, while exploring the power of love to change history’s tides." —Publishers Weekly

About the Author


Alexander Delacroix earned Masters degrees from Brigham Young University and Western Governors University. As an undergraduate he majored in French, Russian, and German but ultimately became a Language Arts teacher. In his spare time, he enjoys reading and writing. Heart of the Impaler is his debut novel.

Praise For…


Praise for Heart of the Impaler:

"Flowing and fast-paced as court intrigue, spies, family secrets, romance, twists, and turns pull readers into fifteenth-century Romania—and into the heart of Vlad the Impaler. Highly recommended." —Booklist

"Betrayal, court intrigue, and one young woman’s journey to find herself amid political upheaval ... Delacroix adroitly immerses readers in a delicious blend of romance and 15th-century politics that leans more historical than mythic, while exploring the power of love to change history’s tides." —Publishers Weekly

"This book is the best … Andrei and Vlad are astounding foil characters, and their growth throughout the story is absolutely brilliant." —H. E. Dunkle, reader on SwoonReads.com

"I love the subject matter! It’s the first YA historical I’ve read set in 1400s Transylvania. … I’m intrigued."
—Larissa Nash, reader on SwoonReads.com

"One of the best love triangles I've ever read ... Like a historical Shadow and Bone." —Ember, reader on SwoonReads.com



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250756169
ISBN-10: 1250756162
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Publication Date: December 7th, 2021
Pages: 352
Language: English