Beauty and the Besharam (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Beauty and the Besharam Cover Image
$17.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


"Warm, joyful, and funny! This delightful gender-flipped Beauty and the Beast is the perfect, sweet rom-com to snuggle up with."--Jenn Bennett, author of Alex, Approximately
 
Heated competition leads to even hotter romance in this YA summer rom-com for fans of Sandhya Menon, David Yoon, and Wibbroka.


Seventeen-year-old, high-achieving Kavya Joshi has always been told she's a little too ambitious, a little too mouthy, and overall just a little too much. Her big, extended family can sum her up in one word: besharam.
 
So, when her nemesis, Ian Jun, witnesses Kavya's very public breakup with her loser boyfriend on the last day of junior year, she decides to lay low and spend the summer doing what she loves best--working part time playing princess roles for childrens' birthday parties. But her plan is shot when she's cast as Ariel *instead of her beloved Belle* and learns that Ian will be her Prince Eric for the summer. [Cue the sarcastic banter.]
 
Exhausted by Kavya and Ian's years-long feud, their friends hatch a plan to end their rivalry by convincing them to participate in a series of challenges throughout the summer. Kavya is only too eager to finally declare a winner. But as the competition heats up, so too does the romantic tension, until it escalates from a simmer to a full-on burn.

About the Author


Lillie Vale is the young adult author of ALA's 2020 Rainbow Books List selection Small Town Hearts. She writes about girls fighting back, secret-keeping, and between-places, the ways in which we’re haunted, food as a love language, and all the feels. Born in Mumbai, she grew up in Mississippi, Texas, and North Dakota, and now lives in an Indiana college town. Her debut adult romantic comedy, The Shaadi Set-Up, releases in 2021.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593350874
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 10th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English